World Cup History

International Cricket Council organizes ICC Cricket World Cup, premier international championship of one-day cricket, in every four years. The journey started in the year 1975 with eight teams in the United Kingdom. West Indies won by beating Australia by 17 runs. Eight episodes of such tournament has already taken place. Only 5 teams have won the trophy. Australia has emerged as the most successful World Cup team. It has become World Cup champion three times. West Indies has won the first two tournaments and India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka won one each.

The first three World Cup was hosted by England but thereafter it is shared by the major cricket playing regions - England, the Indian subcontinent, Australasia, Southern Africa and the West Indies. The event is contested by all the 10 (presently) Test-playing nations, plus the qualifiers.

The following are the winners of the Previous World Cups:

1975 - West Indies won by 17 runs against Australia
1979 - West Indies won by 92 runs against England
1983 - India won by 43 runs against West Indies
1987 - Australia won by 7 runs against England
1992 - Pakistan won by 22 runs against England
1996 - Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets against Australia
1999 - Australia won by 8 wickets against Australia
2003 - Australia won by 125 runs against India
2007 - Australia won by 53 runs against Sri Lanka